My thoughts on HeforShe

WARNING: nothing I wrote has any profanity in it, but some things I have linked do.

I may or may not have thought too much about what a wanted to write about for my first post, but when I finally decided what I wanted to write about, I wondered why I didn’t think of it to begin with.

Sokka enacts my exact emotions

Sokka enacts my exact emotions

I think the reason I wanted to write about this was because I remember seeing people who think that I am not able to do a lot of things and recently a lot more people have started to take me seriously and I want that to continue. I consider myself a feminist. But what is a feminist? Many people today consider feminists to be “man-haters” or abusive to men. This is not true. The definition of feminism is the belief that everyone deserves the same rights and opportunities, regardless of gender or sex. Wait-sex and gender are two different things?

A person’s sex is a biological characteristic that a differentiates males, females, or people who were born intersex. A person’s gender is what they have determined themselves to be; there is a gradient and the only person who has any right to determine where someone falls on the gradient is that person.This video does a great job of explaining that. 

That “man-hating” idea is misandry, or mistreatment of men. Over the last year, I have been asked over, and over, and over again why I hate men when I tell people that I’m a feminist. Standing up for the idea that I deserve to have the same rights as any male of my age and works the same amount that I do is such a radical idea, I know, and I know that it hurts so many boys that they don’t have complete rule over me. I just get so frustrated that we have been taught our whole lives that genders are separate; it’s almost telling us that we’re second class citizens.

I have been a fan of the Harry Potter franchise ever since I was little. I always wanted to be like Hermione; she was so smart, outspoken, and diligent. She fought for the rights of the house elves and her fellow students who were Muggle-born. It should come as no surprise that I am a huge fan of Emma Watson; she is literally the same person, aside from the magic. She had multiple jobs after Harry Potter, and this May she graduated from Brown. Let me repeat. SHE GRADUATED FROM BROWN. When she spoke at the UN about her new campaign HeForShe, I gained so much respect for her. Everything she said about feminism was what I have been trying to tell everyone for the past year. This is the full video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0Dg226G2Z8

HeForShe has since been a successful campaign. Influential actors like Tom Hiddleston, Eddie Redmayne, and David Tennant have taken part, and youtuber Jim Chapman has taken part as well.

David Tennant of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Doctor Who supports #HeforShe

David Tennant of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Doctor Who supports #HeforShe

Tom Hiddleston of the Thor franchise supports #HeforShe

Tom Hiddleston of the Thor franchise supports #HeforShe

I don’t want the world to go on with a separation of genders with men being assigned to this, this, and this role and women being assigned to that, that, and that role. I’m glad that the awareness brought to the issue has educated many girls that when they say they are feminists, they aren’t saying that they hate men. Overall I just feel a lot better that the issue is being addressed and not being swept under the rug or misinterpreted the way that it used to be.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on HeforShe

Leave a Reply

