My Guilty Pleasure

In some, well most, areas in the northern hemisphere besides California, it is currently fall.  Wouldn’t it be nice to feel the nice cool air and crunchy leaves instead of this raging heat?

This is the time of the year when Starbucks releases their seasonal specials. So many people are losing their minds over al favorite, the pumpkin spice latte.

And just about pumpkin spice latte everything else.

But that’s okay; We all enjoy different things. It’s nice to have something to talk about. The problem I have is when there are people who complain about hearing so much about people who do enjoy it.

Why do we have to feel guilty or embarrassed about things we enjoy? If it makes you happy, other people shouldn’t be allowed to judge you for it. We like things because it makes us happy. We don’t do it for anyone else. We just do it for ourselves. It just makes me so frustrated. We put ourselves into this tiny little bubble of how we want to present ourselves to others, and that restricts us from admitting to liking things that are outside of that one genre of personality. When someone enjoys something, it’s a good thing. Good.

I know that I say all of that and still I do it to myself all the time. I’m such a hippo-crate.

Yes, one of these ‘guilty pleasures’ of mine includes really terrible puns. 

I really don’t like feeling guilty about it, though. Yes, it’s fun to laugh at in conversation when you bring up having an interest in something unpopular, and yes, it helps with making us have more depth, but I wish they weren’t called guilty pleasures.

There is no need to feel guilty.

I like this video by theneedledrop and what he has to say about this topic.

 It’s pretty much the same thing that I’ve been trying to say.

Over the course of the last few weeks since it has become autumn, I’ve just been telling people that there isn’t a need for them to apologize to me when they’ve gotten excited about their favorite drink coming back. And there isn’t a need to apologize for being excited about your favorite anything. So enjoy what you love and be proud of it the next time someone asks what your guilty pleasure is.

And remember to feel like Tom Hiddleston

Leave a Reply

