Why Must You Hurt Me in This Way

So…

I’m sorry.

I’m not going to be able to keep the promise I made last week about having a deep, profound post. This post is more of something I need to get out of my system, which is probably healthier than keeping it all in their making me sad. This post has been inspired by The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I coming out in the theater tomorrow. So spoilers ahead if you haven’t read the book or if you haven’t seen the movie, (if you’re reading this after Friday). And there are spoilers for other TV shows, books, movies, etc.

You know what makes me really mad? When the author of a book or book series or screenwriter of a TV show decides to kill off an audience favorite. Yeah, this is probably the worst thing in the world of fiction: when you become so attached to a character that when they killed off and you are in actual mourning of the character. Or is that just me?

No, but really, this is a serious problem for me.

In Mockingjay Katniss’s sister Prim is killed off; she was the very person that Katniss wanted to protect since the beginning of the first book, the catalyst. In The Fault in Our Stars Augustus Waters is killed off, to which many have complained that the writer, John Green, was ‘not supposed to have me fall in love with Gus and then have my heart ripped out in the end’. In Allegiant Veronica Roth killed off the main character, Tris. In Downton Abbey William, Sybil, and Matthew were all killed off. In Pretty Little Liars, just as the audience was growing fond of the complex Mona, she got killed off. AND DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON HARRY POTTER.

I mean

was it really necessary

to kill off all these people.

May their magic live on forever in the great they did.

I know that one of the shows that kills off everyone’s favorite characters is Game of Thrones, but I have not seen any of the episodes or read the books, so I wouldn’t be able to talk about it.

Recently, I was watching a few reruns of Bones with some of my friends, and as a person who was not an active viewer of the series I didn’t understand what was going on, but my friends who were with me knew what was going on and said that one of the characters (Lance Sweets), he seemed to be important, was killed off.

So if the writer knows what the death of the character will do to the fans, why are they going through with it?

Sometimes the writer isn’t trying to please the fans; after all, it is their story. The plot in any of the fictional worlds would not have become as complex or evolved in such a way if that character was still there.

And sometimes, the writer still wants to keep their character, but the actor decided to move on to more mainstream and, in a way, better roles for them onscreen. The actor has moved on, and it is in our, as well as their, best interest to let them grow in their art.

So according to youcannotseesmell.wordpress.com

“We may never be able to answer all of those questions or at least not to our satisfaction but what we do know is that the deaths of our favorite characters usually provoke thought and make us reflect on their impact on the world and maybe even their impact on us.”

Our favorite characters are always there with us. Their personality has shaped us and a piece of them will remain in our hearts forever.

Leave a Reply

