In Retrospect

It has been about eight months since I first started writing on this blog and I think it is a good time to just discuss about a few of the things I have learned along the way and what could be done to improve upon the system I’m working with.

Firstly, I’d like to address that it has been greatly liberating to have some outlet for the things that I think about and there will be people that will actually read to and appreciate what I wrote. It is not only humbling, but also makes me realize that this allows for the potential to have more ideas, including, but not exclusive to, intersectional feminism and multiculturalism, spread to a wider demographic. This journey has helped me to learn how to articulate myself better because of what is more appealing to be seen. I feel as though it may be useful one day

I don’t know how to feel about my most popular post being a post about pop culture. There were still references to social consequences, but it was still a post about pop culture. I mean it’s understandable— it’s popular culture, but I don’t want that to be what I’m remembered by more people for. There are posts that I’ve written about more ‘serious’ topics, and I want those to be remembered by people. I want to be seen with greater potential at writing than just a tabloid. I want to be able to say that there are people who have learned about feminism, the stigma of mental illness, and the socioeconomic conditions of those that are systematically oppressed. I guess that’s something that people are just not that used to yet, but I think, eventually, we’ll get there.

If there’s something I would tell myself from the time that I started, it would be that there are a lot of important things that people are neglecting to discuss simply because they are far too comfortable with their own lives to think about how their way of living to understand others’ hardships, and discussing it aggressively would turn these people off to the idea. There is no conversation if there are too few people to understand the concept. I would take something obscure but important and translate it into something more people would connect to, make it personal, and make it something everybody would want to care about. I think that’s something I would say to someone who was trying to start a blog.

The ideas for my posts usually come from what I’m seeing in my own personal life compared to what is going on from what is portrayed online and in the news. I think it’s difficult to come up with ideas that are both appealing and serious, while being relevant and on topic. I don’t think this has been too difficult considering how much there is to balance within a singular post. The system I was using was to type up a post a week early, have someone proofread it, begin writing the next blog post, and then upload the other post . Having said that, no one person can determine the perfect balance of the things mentioned above and I think it would have been better to send to a small group of people, have them discuss, plan how to articulate the second post. It would have been easier to be posting on specific dates and times, but you know, time constraints.

Overall this has been a very enjoyable experience and I would like to thank the people who have come on this journey with me.

images

2 thoughts on “In Retrospect

Leave a Reply

